Physical therapy

Today was my first day of physical therapy. It took quite a
while for it to be approved through insurance and of course there were a couple
snags throughout the approval process, but I am glad to be in PT and
rehabilitating my knee.

As usual, my first therapy session began with an assessment
by the therapist. He was impressed with my range of motion and knowledge of the
medical terminology regarding my knee’s history. However, I do not believe he
was impressed with the strength of my right leg. To be honest, atrophy took a
pretty big toll on my right quad, hamstring, and calf. My right leg must be at
least an inch and a half or two inches smaller than my left leg.

My first physical therapy session of 2011 started off with
the anticipated warm-up on the bike, but this exercise bike was like no other
one I had ever ridden before. This bike had a monitor in front of it that
displayed a bike path in scenic ocean bluff setting. The handle bars on this
bike turned and it was like a simulation game. After the warm-up, I was
pleasantly surprised with some exercises that I did not think I would be ready
for. I did half squats on discs,
these things called bird dips (oh those really did a number on my glutes and
hamstrings), dead lifts with a 20lb bar,
an exercise called the clam, and lateral leg lifts. I was not anticipating the
squats or the dead lifts and it was pretty exciting to jump right into those
exercises this soon after surgery. Hopefully it won’t take too long to get my
right leg’s strength back to where it needs to be.

Leave a Reply

