Christina Rides :)

First and foremost, I would like to welcome you to the very first entry of my blog which now bears the name “Christina Rides.” After receiving the most unsettling news about my knee and the lack of running in my future, I decided that it was officially time to turn a new leaf in my life and keep continuing on. While the thought of another major knee surgery and never being able to run again still troubles my mind tremendously, I have to do the best that I can to stay positive. As much as I want to cry and dwell on the thought of never running again, I must keep trying to find the positive in all this. Don’t get me wrong. I am no where near over or even okay with the death of my running, but living in denial is getting old and it is time to accept what I now have to deal with. And I am dealing with it by continuing with endurance sports. I am now, officially, a beginning cyclist!

Last weekend my husband and I went to a local bike shop to buy me a bike. I was quite overwhelmed inside the shop. While I consider myself to be very knowledgeable in the sport of running and marathoning, cycling is an entirely new world to me. All of the parts, components, and technology are rather foreign and I know I have much to learn. The store manager helped us out. He explained the difference between various bikes, fitted me for a bike, and helped me pick out one in my price range. I ended up getting the Trek Lexa S, which is a women’s specific design.

Since I’ve bought my bike, I’ve gone on two very short rides. Each ride was a little more than four miles and much more difficult than I would like to admit. Even though I’ve been doing my best to stay in shape since my surgery and injury, I am in no where near the cardio shape that I use to be in. I am still getting use to all of my gears and when to be in which one. As the manager of the bike shop said, I have a big learning curve in front of me, but I am excited to begin this new chapter in my life.

One response to “Christina Rides :)

  1. Enjoy your new bike and keep that great attitude!

Leave a Reply

