Goals for 2011

I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions. I use to, and quite frankly, I am not too great at keeping them. Instead, I make a list of goals that I would like to accomplish in the New Year. Some may say that it is the same thing, but I beg to differ.

Without further ado, here is my list of goals for 2011.

1. First and foremost, one of my major goals for 2011 is to return to running. I can’t believe that it has almost been a year since the last time I ran. Just thinking about that makes me so sad. Hopefully my new orthopedic surgeon can help me get my knee back to where it needs to be so that I can run. Right now, my right knee really is the bane of my existence. I hope to run a 5K in 2011. While this is a far cry from my past running goals, this would be a huge accomplishment.

2. My second goal is to finally get a road bike and start cycling. With all of my knee problems, I know that this is one form of exercise that will benefit me. I would like to eventually complete a half century and a century ride, but for now, it is my goal just to start cycling.

3. Thirdly, I would like to continue working with my pup on obedience training. My major goal for 2011 for Zoey is to help her pass her AKC Canine Good Citizen test. By passing this test, Zoey would show everyone that she is a well-mannered dog and that I am a responsible dog owner. I feel that accomplishing this is especially important because of her breed.

4. I am making it a goal to volunteer in 2011. Seeing as how this is my first year teaching, I have my entire summer free. I am the type of person who gets bored easily, and I know that volunteering will a great way to spend my vacation. I think it would be fun to volunteer at several races and also with an animal organization.

Leave a Reply

