Looking back at 2010

Usually at this time of year I am adding up the miles I covered, the races I ran, and the PRs I earned for the year. Unfortunately, this year is different. If anything, I am counting the miles I did not run, the races I was registered for, but did not race, and the lack of any PR in 2010, except for the most races missed. Due to a major injury this year, I have not been able to run. In fact, the last day that I ran in 2010 was on January 17. Despite re-tearing my right ACL and meniscus, having major revision reconstruction surgery, and now experiencing unexpected complications from my surgery, 2010 has actually been a pretty successful year for myself. With all of my accomplishments this year, being able to run would have just been icing on the cake.

Here is a highlight of my many accomplishments in 2010.

To begin with, I finished my student teaching and teaching credential program in May. Finally in June, I received my single subject California teaching credential in English, with authorizations in journalism and civics, from the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing.

Now that I had my credential, the job hunt was on. This is something that I was rather apprehensive about because the California economy right now is in the dumps. Teachers and school employees in southern California were being laid off by the thousands, and secondary English positions were limited given the size of the applicant pool. Over the summer I applied for a position with more than thirty school districts. Slowly, but steadily, I received rejection letters. Amid all of the rejection letters, I was given the opportunity to interview at Huntington Beach High School. To shed light on the competitiveness of teaching in this area right now, the school received more than 100 applications for a single position. They interviewed ten candidates and I was not selected for the position. A couple week later however, I interviewed at a different school district and was offered the job. I was ecstatic!

The night before my first official day as a high school teacher, I finished the last requirement for my Mater of Education degree. I presented the findings of my literature review, a 50 page paper that reviewed 52 sources confirming the positive correlation between academic achievement and athletic participation in secondary students.

As if the excitement of finishing my credential program, landing my first teaching job, and getting my Master’s wasn’t enough for 2010, Zac and I also bought our first house and adopted an adorable puppy.

We were so fortunate to have found such an amazing house (https://christinaruns.wordpress.com/2010/11/22/our-first-home/). It really was everything we wanted and more. This house affords us the ability to grow as a family when we reach that point in our lives and still have plenty of room. Around the same time we were closing on our house, an adorable little puppy walked into our lives. She found us and we couldn’t be happier to have her be a member of our family. Zoey has brought so much fun, excitement, and love into our lives.

Even though I had a major set back in 2010, it also proved to be a successful year. I finished my credential program, got my first teaching gig, earned my Master’s, bought a house, and rescued a puppy. Goodbye 2010. Hello 2011. I am excited to see what the new year will bring.

2 responses to “Looking back at 2010

  1. Pingback: Top 15 of the decade « Christina Runs

  2. Pingback: Top 15 of the decade « Christina Runs

Leave a Reply

