Christmas time is here!

As with many people, Christmas is one of my favorite holidays. There is some kind of magic that goes along with twinkling lights, decorated trees, Christmas cookies, perfectly-wrapped presents, and holiday cheer. As usual, to help myself get into a festive mood this year, I broke out my tried and true Christmas CD…the *N Sync Christmas CD. Yes, you read that correctly. It’s been a favorite of mine since high school and now it has become tradition.

This is our first Christmas together in our first home, so it is already geared up to be a magical holiday for us. Seeing as how this is our first house, we did not have much in regards to decorations. I went out and purchased a tree and some LED lights for it and we were fortunate enough to not have to buy anything else. Christmas is also my mother-in-law’s favorite holiday. Every year she hand paints ornaments, so she gave us a bunch of her extras. Also, she gave us many other ornaments, so we did not have to go out and buy any. Also, she cleaned out all of her decorations and gave us quite a bit. Plus, my mom is bringing down some decorations as well, so it looks like we now have enough decorations…for now.

I’ve had my Christmas stocking for as long as I can remember. My grandma made it for me when I was a young child. I love it, and Christmas stockings are one of my favorite parts of Christmas morning. Luckily, when Zac and I got married, she also made him a matching one. She also told us that she made a couple extra for her future great-grandkids.

Additionally, Christmas time wouldn’t be Christmas time without baking and decorating sugar cookies. I made two batches of dough and let it chill overnight. Then, I floured my countertop and went to town rolling the dough, cutting out the Christmas shapes, and placing the cookies in the oven. After nearly two and a half hours of this, I made the icing and decorated the cookies using a brand new nylon paint brush. They turned out great and I can’t wait to give them away.

This is the recipe I used: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/the-best-rolled-sugar-cookies/Detail.aspx. For the icing, I just mixed powdered sugar, water, milk, and food coloring. These cookies taste amazing and are soft and moist.

2 responses to “Christmas time is here!

  1. The cookies look great. You’ll always remember your first Christmas in your first home!

  2. I love that your grandma made your stocking! My mom made stockings for my whole family and I thought that they were so much more special than store-bought stockings! I have been meaning to make some for Chris and I, but I didn’t get around to it this year. Maybe in time for next Christmas.

Leave a Reply

