Giving Thanks

Can you believe that it is Thanksgiving already? Before we know it, we will be counting down to 2011 and making big plans for what we hope to accomplish in the coming year.

There are many things that I am thankful for this year, but I keep dwelling on my knee and the fact that I am still not running or working out the way I would like to. This year, I had a major setback in my running; however I also accomplished some personal goals.

While I cannot say that I am thankful for all of the miles I’ve covered or the races I ran in, I still have a lot in my life to be thankful for.

First and foremost, I am thankful for getting a job in this terrible economy…a teaching job at that. In my area, teachers were being pink-slipped left and right. I applied to more than 30 school districts, had two interviews, and was so lucky to get my contract. While my students do test me daily, I love my job and I love helping out the students.

The second thing I am thankful for is my wonderful husband, Zac. He is such an amazing guy and I am very thankful to have him in my life. When I hurt my knee in February and when I finally had surgery in May, he was there for me at all times. He took over the cooking, cleaning, and laundry, and he also made sure that I had plenty of movies taped on the DVR to watch.

I am also thankful for our puppy Zoey. While I have to admit that I never envisioned myself owning a pit bull, I cannot imagine my life without her right now. She is the sweetest and most loveable dog I have ever owned or met. All she wants to do is cuddle and play, but mostly cuddle. She is my 51 pound lap dog. I am so thankful that we were able to rescue her and give her a second chance at life. It truly upsets me what I think about what her fate at the shelter might have been if we had not adopted her. Plus, once my knee is completely healed and once she is more mature and loose-leash trained, she is going to be an awesome running partner. (https://christinaruns.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/id-like-to-introduce-you-to-hopefully-our-new-family-addition/).

Another thing that I am thankful for is my house (https://christinaruns.wordpress.com/2010/11/22/our-first-home/). Buying this house was a long time coming and it was definitely worth the wait. I am still amazed that I own house as beautiful as this one. I am also very fortunate that this is where Zac and I will get to live our lives and eventually start a family together.

And of course, as always, I am thankful for my family and friends, whom I love, adore, miss, and always cannot wait to see.

What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

One response to “Giving Thanks

  1. I am really thankful I found running and everything that goes along with it including all the running bloggers out there. I’m still learning everyday!

    Thankful for the *2*jobs I have, my family (even if they are weird and sometimes distant), my husband, my running friends & my regular friends, and like you, my pets. I have 5 beautiful cats who are my kids. Don’t know what I would do without them!

Leave a Reply

