4 months out and no progress

It has been four months since my revision ACL reconstructive and meniscus removal surgery and I really wish that I could report that my knee is doing much better, but it isn’t. In fact, it feels like my knee is progressively getting worse and worse. On Monday I had a follow-up appointment with my doctor. While the swelling isn’t as bad, it is still there. He gave me a new prescription and sent me on my way. My follow-up appointment isn’t for another six weeks. If he finally decides to do more then, it will have been two months of complications and pain. I even asked about re-examining it with an MRI and he wants to “wait it out.”

In addition to the pain and swelling, I am also experiencing new complications as well. For one, I am losing range of motion. Before this all started, I was able to touch my heel to my butt without pain. Now, even getting my heel within a couple inches to my butt is extremely painful.

Additionally, at my most recent physical therapy visit, even riding the exercise bike hurt my knee. This was so odd to me because the bike is such a low impact exercise, that if anything, it should make it feel better. The fact that riding the exercise bike at four months out is painful is a huge red flag.

Even more disgruntling is the fact that my request for more physical therapy visits has been denied. I am only allowed 24 visits per the state worker’s compensation laws and I just had my 20th visit. I am no where near being done with physical therapy, especially with all of these complications that I have experienced within the last month. The claims company denied my request for additional physical therapy based on results from a study about the effectiveness of physical therapy on a totally different knee surgery! That is even more ridiculous. Both my doctor and my therapist agree that I need more therapy and a company is denying me.

Lately, it has been extremely hard to stay positive regarding my knee. Negative thoughts keep entering my mind. I am wondering if I will ever be able to run again. I am so frustrated and upset by all of this. It seems like I am stuck in a horrible nightmare and I can’t wake up. With all of this said, I finally decided to seek out the help of a worker’s compensation lawyer. I want to make sure that all of my rights are being met and that I receive better medical care than what I am receiving now. It is absolutely ludicrous that my doctor thinks it is okay for me to suffer in pain for 8 weeks before deciding to take any action and investigate why I am having these complications and this pain. I meet with the lawyer in a little more than a week to review my rights as a patient and to review my case. I really hope that a lawyer will help me receive better care.

6 responses to “4 months out and no progress

  1. Wow. I’m so sorry you’re dealing with all of this, and I applaud you for taking the necessary action. I hope all of this gets settled properly in the end…for now, I’m thinking of you and sending positive vibes your way!

  2. Christina, I’m so sorry. I can’t imagine what it would be like to be in your shoes. Good for you for taking action! I hope you get some answers soon and that your knee begins to improve. Sending positive thoughts your way!

  3. I just wanted to say that i’m sorry you are going through this. I hope your knee starts to feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

