Hmmmm…..this is odd

At my last doctor’s appointment, I told my doctor about some of the recent popping action that’s been happening in my knee. He didn’t seem to be too worried about it, but now my knee is starting this new popping action that is worrying me a bit. Good thing I have another follow-up appointment in a week.

This new type of popping action started shortly after my last doctor’s appointment and it was at its worse last night. It starts with me feeling pressure build up in my knee. This feeling of pressure that builds up right below and slightly to the inside of my knee slowly builds up. It gets so bad that I cannot straighten my leg and put weight on it without pain. Yep, that’s right. I am still experiencing pain when I don’t think I should be. Anyway, after this happens, my knee will pop, a pretty big pop too, and all of the pressure is gone and I can finally straighten it. Odd, right? At least the big pop does not hurt. In fact, it makes my knee feel so much better. Last night, I felt the pressure build up and told Zac and I was rubbing my knee, “Zac, my knee hurts, it feels like it needs to pop.” Then, I stood up and gently pressed on my thigh. The moment I did that, I felt and heard such a loud pop. Immediately, the pain and pressure I was feeling disappeared.

Seeing as how I am encountering these setbacks in my recovery, which I still have not determined whether or not they are minor or major setbacks, I am pretty sure that I will not be able to walk the inaugural Rock ‘n’ Roll Los Angeles half marathon that I signed up for at the beginning of the year. This really bums me out because this race took over my favorite half marathon and the course is extremely similar. It starts out in Griffith Park near the LA Zoo, winds throughout many of the streets of LA, and finishes in the heart of downtown LA. There is one small, yet challenging hill toward the end, and the scenery is constantly changing. I will still remain optimistic about being able to walk this race, but I do not know if it will happen. I am not able to train at all right now, but then again, as a teacher I am on my feet for at least seven hours a day. That has got to count for something.

Leave a Reply

