Not So Fast

I thought I would be walking with my running group by now, but unfortunately that isn’t the case. I was delivered some unwanted and discouraging news at physical therapy this week. While I am able to walk as exercise now, I can only walk on flat surfaces, meaning absolutely no hills. I live in an area that is all hills. I only have one running route that is completely flat, and it isn’t a route that my running group takes. Our Pacer route has lots of hills of all sizes and grade. My physical therapist explained to me that while I can walk now, hills are bad for me because they place extra stress on my knee and my still developing ACL graft. Bummer. Hopefully soon I can walk some hills because I need to start training for the half marathon I plan on walking in October. That race isn’t too far away and I want to make sure that I am capable of walking the thing without hurting my knee. I still have more than two months. If I can get up to about 9 or 10 miles of walking that would be ideal, but I have a feeling that teaching and standing up all day and walking around my classroom is already some training. Hopefully.

Leave a Reply

