Adding to the classroom library

I hit the mother lode!

Every few months I go around to local thrift stores looking for books for my classroom library. While I still am an “unemployed teacher,” I am confident that I will find a job for the upcoming school year. I want to make sure that my classroom library is filled with a diverse range of books for my students to read. On a whim, I decided to go shopping today for used books and I struck gold. I went to three different stores in my area and spent less than $30. I consider today my most lucrative book shopping trip to date. The first two books are just fun books that kids love looking at.

Here is what I bought:

  • Scholastic Atlas of the World

  • Guinness World Records 2004

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, J.K. Rowling
  • The Hobbit, J.R.R. Tolkien
  • The Fellowship of the Ring, J.R.R. Tolkien
  • The Two Towers, J.R.R. Tolkien
  • The Return of the King, J.R.R. Tolkien
  • The Diary of a Young Girl, Anne Frank
  • The Giver, Lois Lowry
  • Angels and Demons, Dan Brown
  • White Fang, Jack London
  • Esperanza Rising, Pam Munoz Ryan
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky
  • Not Anything, Carmen Rodrigues
  • Someone like You, Sarah Dessen
  • The Boxcar Children #6
  • Lord of the Flies, William Golding
  • The Silver Chair, C.S. Lewis
  • The Horse and His Boy, C.S. Lewis
  • The Magician’s Nephew, C.S. Lewis
  • The Last Battle, C.S. Lewis

The Entire Box Set of the Chronicles of Narnia

And 15 various Goosebumps Books!

2 responses to “Adding to the classroom library

    • I know. I am so excited. One “chain” thrift store in my area always sells Goosebumps books for 39 cents! That is such a deal. Eventually, I would love to have hundreds and hundreds of books in my classroom library.

Leave a Reply

