Feeling strong :)

Right now I am feeling especially grateful that I have access to a gym because there is a hold up for my new order of physical therapy visits, which means I am not going to physical therapy this week. Luckily, a while back I purchased ankle weights to help facilitate my rehabilitation and I can do almost all of my exercises from therapy at the gym.

Today was an especially great day at the gym. I felt the strongest today that I have since surgery. This week marks the ninth week out of surgery for me. I am almost to that crucial 12 week mark where I will be able to do so much more in therapy. At therapy last week, I got the go ahead to increase my weight resistance on closed-chain exercises (exercises where my feet are firmly planted on the ground) and I increased my weight resistance on the leg press machine. I did 50lbs on just my right leg and 100lbs for both. I hope to keep steadily increasing my weight for this exercise.

Not only did I feel strong today, but I felt better; my knee felt more normal. It is difficult to explain if you haven’t had knee surgery before, but my knee didn’t feel stiff or odd at all. After knee surgery, your knee feels kind of odd for a while; it feels like it isn’t really apart of your body. Even though I know I can’t just yet, today was the first day where I actually felt like I could run. This is a huge sign of progress in my rehabilitation and I am more confident than ever that I will make a full recovery from this knee surgery. Even more exciting is that I am actively able to strengthen my knee now with only minor pain right below my patella. Before, I was still missing a few degrees in my extension. Each and every single day I am getting stronger and I know that with each passing week I am getting stronger and more capable. However, with my increased strength, I also noticed a new thing with my knee. As my range of motion increases, my knee pops. It is a small pop that feels like a great release of pressure, but I have never experienced this type of popping sensation before with any of my prior knee surgeries.

5 responses to “Feeling strong :)

  1. Glad you had a good day! Keep ’em coming.

  2. I am glad to hear you had a great day! Stay focused girl! I know you’ll be back to running.

  3. Yay, Christina! I am so glad to hear that you are feeling better! Looking forward to following your blog!

Leave a Reply

