New sights, new goals

With my three knee surgeries, and not to mention my broken sesamoid bone that I still may need to have surgery on, I am going to shift my focus a bit more. Don’t get me wrong, I still plan on running, and I still plan on running full marathons, but I may not be running as many as I would like. As sad as this is, I need to accept the fact that running may be more difficult now without a meniscus. With this said, I am going to start cross training once I am cleared to do so. By cross training, I mean I plan to take up cycling!

Once I can stand without crutches, Zac and I are going to go to one of the local bike shops and I will get fitted for a road bike. I have one in mind that I really like right now, and I am hoping that one will fit me…because it is so pretty! I don’t even have my bike yet and I am already looking at races and tours to participate in. I’m hoping that in October I will be able to do the bike tour at the Long Beach Marathon. In February I want to do the Pasadena Marathon bike tour. And, get this. I am even planning on doing a century ride. That is a 100 mile bike ride. What can I say? I like going the distance.

In addition to bike tours and a century ride, I also want to get more into duathlons, a race which involves biking and cycling. That sounds like a lot of fun! I would try triathlons, but I am a horrible swimmer and swimming in a large body of water totally freaks me out. So, for now I will stick duathlons and just bike and cycle.

While I said I plan on still running full marathons, I want to focus more on 5Ks and 10Ks as well. Since I started getting serious about marathon running, I let the 5K races go by the wayside. I mean, my last 5K was in 2008!

So, here are my post-surgery goals revisited.

  • Fully recover from surgery
  • Complete a 26.2 mile bike tour
  • Complete a century ride
  • Complete a duathlon
  • Bike more
  • Run a 5K in less than 21 minutes (this will take a while because I’m afraid I lost all of my speed)
  • Run a 10K in less than 45 minutes
  • Run a half marathon in less than 1:40
  • Run a marathon in 3:40
Leave a Reply

