4 week update

A couple days ago I broke down and started to cry. I caught a glimpse of my knee in the mirror and was upset. From a side view, I noticed that my knee wasn’t as straight as I thought it was (I am still probably missing about 10-25 degrees until it is completely straight), and it looked pretty swollen from the side. I started to worry that I wasn’t going to make a full recovery and the thought of never being able to run again just terrified me. I know that I am only four weeks out of surgery, but I just feel like I should be a little farther along now in my rehabilitation. All I want to do is go for a nice, long, hilly run outside and have full clearance to do all of the activities that I love. While I do try to remain positive, I broke the other day. Sometimes this just plain sucks and I am over it.

 On a positive note though, I had another check-up with my doctor yesterday, which was four weeks exactly since surgery, and everything went well. In fact, it went better than I thought it would. The doctor said that my knee looked great. I secretly believe that is because I still ice it for about more than three hours a day at least and I apply Neosporin twice a day to my incision marks. Plus, I stay out of the sun so that my scars don’t turn a dark purple-red color. The doctor cleared me to start physical therapy, which I hope to start this Friday, but seeing as how this is a worker’s comp case everything is more complicated than it has to be. I still have two companies to go through before I can even schedule and yesterday I could not get the first company on the phone. Frustrating! Also, my doctor downgraded my huge, upper-thigh to ankle knee brace. I now have a compact, hinge neoprene brace. I must say, my new brace makes sleeping so much more comfortable. I did not wake up in the middle of the night last night once because of an awkward or itchy or uncomfortable brace.

I am also making progress at the gym with my own rehabilitation. I went to the gym on Monday morning to ride the bike as usual. This time I noticed that it was so much easier to pedal. I was even able to turn the bike on and start it! This is something that I was not able to do before, so I am super excited because this is progress. Even though I was able to turn the bike on though, it still kept going back and forth between pause and on because I can only pedal about 50-55 rotations per minutes right now, on zero resistance. Now, keep in mind that my purpose for being on the bike is not for a cardio workout, it is just for range of motion, so this is a great step for me. I still pedal backward and forward too. Pedaling backward helps with my range of motion, but allows for less resistance, which is good. Also, I tried something new while I was at the gym and it completely worked. I did a modified arm workout while I slowly pedaled. I went to the gym with Zac (since I still cannot drive) and I had him bring me a set of five pound dumbbells. This is what my on-the-bike arm routine looked like.

  • 3 x 15reps front raise
  • 3 x 15 reps lateral raise
  • 3 x 15 reps shoulder press
  • 3 x 15 reps bicep curls
  • 3 x 15 reps tricep extension (overhead, each arm individually)
  • 3 x 15 reps tricep extension (backward, ach arm individually)

 So, hopefully I am in therapy by the end of the week. I know that once I start therapy I will be making great strides in my rehabilitation process.

Four weeks out of surgery. Still swollen, but not as much. You still cannot see the distinct outline of my patella. Plus, you can notice the atrophy in my right calf.

Leave a Reply

