Book Review: Jane Eyre

Toward the end of last year, I set out to read more of the classics. While I’ve always enjoyed reading, I never really ventured into the world of classic literature (or even modern classics) outside of what was required during high school and college. When I decided to go into education, and pursue a career as a high school English teacher, I knew that I would have to become more well-read, especially in regards to the classics. After reading a couple modern-day classics, I decided to take on something a bit more challenging, something completely out of my comfort zone. Late last year, I decided to read Charlotte Bronte’s Victorian novel, Jane Eyre, a book unlike anything I’ve read thus far. Today, I am happy to report that I finally finished reading it.

I have to admit, this book took me a much longer time than usual to get through. At times, I would even go months without even picking it up because I lost interest. Despite this, I knew that I wanted to finish it and I am sure glad that I did. I lost interest in the book before the plot really developed. After I picked it up again (rather recently) I could not put it down. I found myself cheering for Jane, the story’s independent, strong-willed, and passionate protagonist. I wanted her to find true love and happiness, while at the same time find peace in her life. And after reading about her life, I feel that I have learned a few things from her. We can all use a little more Jane Eyre in us – passion, integrity, and morality. She was a strong-willed woman who held true to her convictions and had (what would have been then) radical ideals about a woman’s place in society.

Overall, I loved the book and I wish that it did not take me so long to read it. I enjoyed the story so much that I just called the library to have the movie delivered to my local branch so that I can watch it. If you are looking for a good classical read, look no further than Jane Eyre; it is suspenseful and deeply romantic with a small hint of horror and Gothicism.

Leave a Reply

