Christina Runs 101

 I put together a short question and answer blog entry. I think you might find it intriguing. If you like it, feel free to post the questions and your answers on your blog. Enjoy!

Why do I run?

I could go on and on about why I run, but to make it short and sweet, I love the way running makes me feel. I love pushing and challenging my body, I love the sense of accomplishment I feel after every run, and I love how running cleanses my soul. I am unable to run right now and it is killing me. I can’t wait to get back into it.

 Why do I race?

I race because I am competitive. Scratch that, I am very competitive. Racing keeps me motivated and keeps my eyes on my goals. I am always looking to run faster, stronger and harder and racing is a great medium for this. Plus, I’m not going to lie, the medals are pretty sweet!

When is my favorite time to run?

I prefer to run early in the morning. I am the type of person that can wake up, get dressed, lace up my running shoes, and be out the door in 15 minutes ready to go. Last year, while training for the Las Vegas Rock and Roll Marathon in Las Vegas, I met my group at 5 a.m. to complete our long runs (18-23 miles). We would run for about an hour in darkness before the sun rose. Those runs were so awesome because in the blackness of early morning we would encounter the other dedicated marathon runners in our area. Then, the sun would slowly rise and it would feel as if we were running an entirely new run.

What is my favorite race distance?

My favorite race is the half marathon. In my opinion, nothing compares to the half marathon. It is long enough to be a distance race, but still short enough to run it quickly. Apparently, this has been my favorite race for quite some time now. Back in 2008, I posted a blog entry about my love for the half marathon. https://christinaruns.wordpress.com/2008/05/22/of-all-the-distances/

What is my favorite treadmill workout?

I found this workout online (I wish I could remember where I found it at because it is amazing) and I fell in love with it the first time I tried it. In fact, I blogged about it here: https://christinaruns.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/good-week-of-running.

This run is a speed workout that consists of only two ladder sets and it is designed to make your goal race pace for marathons seem like a piece of cake. Here is the kicker, each ladder set is a combination of distances put together and you must run each different distance at a certain pace. Plus, in order to do the workout correctly you CANNOT stop or rest in the middle of a set.

The workout is 2x 400/800/2400/800/400. You run the 400M distance at your best mile pace, the 800M distance at your 5K pace, and the 2400M distance at your goal marathon pace. Trust me, by time you reach the middle of each ladder, that goal marathon pace feels like you are practically walking! Plus, the last 800M and 400M runs are pure torture. It is a great workout.

What is my favorite speed workout?

I must say I am a traditionalist here. My favorite speed workout is 6x 800M with a 400M recovery jog in between each set. I do not even know how I managed to do 8x 800M repeats in high school. Six is enough for me.

 When did I first realize I wanted to run a marathon?

I first realized that I wanted to run a marathon before I even quite knew exactly what a marathon was. I was 17 and on my school’s cross country and track teams. I knew that running a marathon was one of the ultimate running experiences and I knew I wanted to run one.

 What was my most frightening running moment?

In February of 2007, I was running an 18 mile training run in the early evening on a weekday with some members of my running group. The run started out nice, but about three miles in it started pouring. We were running through a trail that crossed through many (slightly major) roads every so often. At each road we crossed though, we had a stoplight and a cross walk. We approached this one and the rain was really coming down. One of my friends stopped to tie her shoe and I proceeded through the intersection. I didn’t realize it, but the rest of my friends stayed back with the one who tied her shoe. I was a little more than half way through when I heard my friend Alex yell my name in a panic. I didn’t see it, but a car was about to run a red light at the intersection I was in. If I didn’t stop running when Alex called my name, I would have been hit. The lady driving the car was on her cell phone and she saw me once it was too late, slammed on her brakes, and swerved to a stop about ten yards past the intersection. I was literally inches away from the car as it screeched passed me. I was completely shaken up. After the rest of my group caught up to me and we made it to the other side of the road, I glanced over and saw the driver of the car sobbing. That was by far my closest call to date.

What is my most memorable race moment?

My most memorable race moment occurred at the Rock and Roll Las Vegas Marathon on December 6, 2007. I grew up in Las Vegas so this race was pretty nostalgic for me. Plus, this was the first race where my parents were at. In addition to my parents being at the race, my family (aunts, uncles, grandparents, and cousins) were waiting along the course with signs and cow bells. I’ve never had that kind of course support before and it was great knowing they were out there cheering me on. I passed by them three times, with the last time at mile 22 where I was able to run past them and give my little cousins high fives. I was totally pumped after passing them. Then, I was nearing the finish line (all the while knowing I would accomplish my goal of running a sub 4) and I hear my mom call out to me. She saw me cross the finish line.

 What is my ultimate running goal?

Even though one of my biggest running goals is to run Boston, I want to use my passion for running and help people. Once I am a teacher, I would love to participate in the Students Run LA program as a mentor and coach. The SRLA program is one that reaches out to at risk teens and challenges them to run a marathon. The program provides the teens with all of the necessary running gear and the guidance and coaching necessary to complete a marathon. In completing a marathon, these students are more likely to finish high school and realize that they can do anything they set their minds to.

Do I run with an iPod?

This question has two answers, yes and no. Yes, I do run with an iPod when I am running on a treadmill, but I do not run with one outside. Personally, I believe it is too dangerous and I do not want to risk anything just so that I can listen to music while I run outside. What if I had been wearing headphones during that run in February 2009? I wouldn’t have heard my friend Alex and I probably would not have stopped. I do not even want to think of what would have happened if that lady would have hit me. I also do not race with music. I like to hear all the sounds of the race. Plus, I like hearing the runners behind me so that I do not cut them off or trip over them.

What kind of awards have I won?

Since I started running again, I’ve only run a few 5Ks and one 10K. Here are the awards I’ve won in these races.

  • 02-03-07 – 5K – 1st in AG
  • 05-31-05 – 5K – 1st in AG
  • 10-03-09 – 10K – Overall Female Winner

Okay, those are all of the questions for now. I will probably have another post like this in the future. Please feel free to answer these questions in your own blog, or as a comment in mine!

2 responses to “Christina Runs 101

  1. I really enjoyed reading this – thanks for sharing!!! That treadmill speed workout sounds like a killer – in a good way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

