Anniversary Celebration and a Knee Update

There are so many things to talk about in this blog post. First things first though, Zac and I celebrated our one year anniversary this past weekend. Our anniversary was actually on Sunday, May 23, but we celebrated together on Saturday because he had to work Sunday. (This will be just one anniversary/birthday/holiday that he will miss due to him being a paramedic, and soon a fire fighter/paramedic – 911 does not take days off). Since I just had knee surgery, we had to plan a low key anniversary celebration. Initially we were going to go away for the weekend to Temecula to go wine tasting and golfing, but that wasn’t going to happen this year. Instead, Zac prepared us a nice dinner and we finally watched our Avatar blue-ray. I am so lucky that I married such an excellent chef. He loves cooking and he is very good at it! These past years he has pretty much taught me almost everything I know about cooking. For dinner, he prepared filet mignon, shrimp skewers, steamed artichoke, red roasted potatoes, and salad. The meal was delicious and I loved having leftover steak and potatoes for lunch the next day 🙂

Anniversary Dinner
Zac prepared filet mignon, lemon pepper shirmp, roasted red potatoes, steamed artichoke, and salad (not pictured).

Steak Marinade:

Red Wine, Soy Sauce, Worcestershir Sauce, Garlic Powder, Pepper

 Shrimp Marinade:

White Wine, Lemon Juice (from our lemons that grow outside), Lemmon Pepper 

He prepared both the steaks and the shrimp on the grill.

We ordered an anniversary cake from the bakery we got our wedding cake from. She made us a replica of our top layer

For dessert, we ordered an anniversary cake from the same bakery that we ordered our wedding cake from, Sweet Addictions Bakery. I did not realize that an anniversary cake was an exact replica of the top layer! I was so surprised when he brought it home. Ah, I love it. Seeing the anniversary cake brought back so many memories of one of the best days of my life. Our wedding cake had three layers and was two flavors. We had one layer that was called ‘Hawaiian Delight’ which was a white chocolate macadamia nut cake with alternating layers of fresh pineapple and coconut crème. The other layer was a moist marble cake, which alternating layers of rich chocolate ganache and silky chocolate chip mousse. Yay for anniversary cake! 

Yum! This was our favorite layer of the cake. White chocolate macadamia nut cake, with pineapple and coconut creme filling.

On the knee front, while I am noticing small improvements everyday, I also have been having trouble these past two nights. I wake up in the middle of the night in extreme pain, almost in a panic, and with a feeling of helplessness. It is really quite odd. I feel trapped and my leg feels like it weighs a million pounds and it is so uncomfortable it hurts. I really hate having to sleep on my back with my right leg wrapped up snugly in my brace. I also miss bending my knee. These past two nights I’ve had to up my pain medication doses just to get back to sleep. On the bright side though, I went all day yesterday without taking a single pain medication. I didn’t even need Aleve or Naproxen. Wow!

 Finally, I truly believe that animals can sense when things are not right. Ever since I came home from surgery, my cat Lou has not left my side. She sleeps with me downstairs every night, and even for the first few nights, she woke me up in the middle of the night by standing on my chest and meowing at me. I was probably making some weird noises or something. She sniffs my leg brace often and then curls up besides me. She does not leave the room to eat or get a drink until I wake up in the morning. She is my own personal kitty nurse. I think it is just adorable how much she is around me right now and I am totally relishing in the extra kitty attention.

This is my kitty nurse. She has not left my side since surgery.

Leave a Reply

