My Theme Song

The first time I heard this song, it was for a Nike commercial. Last night I heard it at an Angels’ game and its lyrics were even more meaningful to me. For those of you who know my knee surgery and running past, I am about to have my third knee surgery. I was registered for and training for my first marathon in 2006 when I needed my second knee surgery. For my most recent injury, I just ran a PR and was ready to kick training into full gear because I felt a BQ time was near. If you want to read more into my background, click on the “About Me” tab. My full story is there.

Regardless, I am a very passionate person, especially when it comes to my running. I love the sport. I love the thrills of training. I love the accomplishment that comes along with each and every new milestone. Being injured and needing a third knee surgery is taking a toll on my spirit. I feel defeated.

The song is called Ali in the Jungle and it is by The Hours.

It’s, not, how you start, it’s how you finish,
And it’s, not, where you’re from, it’s where you’re at,

Everybody gets knocked down,
Everybody gets knocked down,
How quick are you gonna’ get up?
How quick are you gonna’ get up?
Everybody gets knocked down,
Everybody gets knocked down,
How quick are you gonna’ get up?
Just how are you gonna’ get up?

Like Ali in the jungle,
Like Nelson in jail,
Like Simpson on the mountain,
With odds like that, they were bound to fail
Like Hannah in the darkness,
Like Adam’s in the dark,
Like Ludwig Van, how I loved that man, well the guy went deaf and didn’t give a fuck, no…

No, no, no

It’s, not, where you are, It’s where you’re going,
Where are you going?
And it’s, not, about the things you’ve done, it’s what you’re doing, now,
What are you doing, now?

Everybody gets knocked down,
Everybody gets knocked down,
How quick are you gonna’ get up?
How quick are you gonna’ get up, now?
Everybody gets knocked down,
Everybody gets knocked down,
How quick are you gonna’ get up?
Just how are you gonna’ get up?

Like Ali in the jungle,
Like Nelson in jail,
Like Simpson on the mountain,
Well with odds like that, they were bound to fail
Like Hannah in the darkness,
Like Adam’s in the dark,
Like Ludwig Van, how I loved that man, well the guy went deaf and didn’t give a fuck, no…

Oooh, ooh, ooh
No, no, no
Oooh, ooh, ooh
No, no, no
Oooh, ooh, ooh

It’s the greatest comeback since Lazarus,
The greatest comeback since Lazarus,
It’s the greatest comeback since Lazarus,
The greatest comeback since Lazarus,
It’s the greatest comeback since Lazarus,
The greatest comeback since Lazarus,
The greatest comeback since Lazarus,
The greatest comeback…
It’s the greatest comeback…

(Radio Commentator) This, is the most joyous scene, ever seen in the history of boxing, this is an incredible scene, the place is going wild, Muhammed Ali has won, Muhammed Ali has won, by a knockdown! By a knockdown! The thing they said was impossible, he’s done!

 

I have been knocked down before and I am knocked down right now, but let it be known that I will get up as soon as I am physically able to. I will not let yet another major roadblock get in the way of where I want to finish. And even though I am at a place right now where I can’t run, and come Tuesday I won’t even be able to walk, I am at a place where I am able to recover and eventually return to the road.  I find this commercial so inspiring and moving. As I said, this is my theme song and I will play it whenever I need that extra boost.  Below is the Nike commercial. Isn’t it just awesome?

Leave a Reply

