Setting Post-Op Surgery Goals

Even though I still have nine days until I even go under the knife, I have already started setting post surgery goals. While these goals should be along the lines of how many degrees of range of motion I am hoping to have the first week and second week after surgery, or to be able to walk with only one crutch in four weeks, I have much more ambitious goals than that.

1.Be able to bike the full 26.2 miles at the Long Beach Bike Tour on October 17, 2010. It will be six months after surgery, and I am hoping that I will be capable of doing this. If I bike this race, I will get to experience a whole new aspect of marathons, plus I will be able to cheer on my fellow Pacers from our favorite little corner at the end of the race.

2. Walk the inaugural Los Angeles Rock and Roll Half Marathon on October 24, 2011. I already paid for this race and I would love to participate in it, especially considering I’ve had to sit out so many other races so far. I know that it would be a hard task to walk 13.1 miles, but I know I will be no where near ready to run those miles.

3. Start running by the end of 2010.

4. Run my first race after surgery, the 5K at the Surf City Marathon on February 6, 2011.

5. Walk/Run the 2011 Los Angeles Marathon in 2011. Out of all my goals, this one I am thinking is the least feasible. Luckily for me, the marathon allowed me to postpone my registration for 2010 until 2011, but I am not sure if I will be ready to complete all 26.2 miles on foot less than a year out. By walk run, I mean walk 2-3 miles and jog 1…but, I still don’t know.

6. I want to get my body fat percentage back down to the 17-18% range. Before injuring myself, I was 18.3% the last time I measured. I found that as my body fat went down, my times in all of my races did as well. Currently (I just measured yesterday) I am at 20%. Even though I’ve gone up 1.7%, I still consider this to be pretty good because of all things considering. I won’t place a time limit on this one because I know it will take a while once I am fully recovered, but I do want to get it down again.

7. Finally, before Zac and I have a family, I really want to run the Boston Marathon. Right now without kids, we get to be selfish with our own personal wants and desires. For me, the Boston Marathon is one of those desires. In order to accomplish this, I need to run a 3:40 qualifying time, meaning I will have to train harder and longer than I have in the past because I have 18 minutes I need to cut off of my time. While Zac and I want kids and are looking forward to starting a family in the future, we are certainly in no rush to do so at this moment.

Well, those are 7 of my post-op goals. I hope I can meet every single one of them.

Leave a Reply

