Pre-Op

In addition to my orthopedic appointment I had scheduled, I also had my pre-op appointment today. Needless to say, I only made it to 6th period for student teaching.

My orthopedic appointment went well. My surgery is officially scheduled for Tuesday, May 18, 2010. It will be at an outpatient surgical center and they will call me the Thursday or Friday before surgery to give me my surgery time, confirmation, and fasting instructions. Unlike my last two reconstructive knee surgeries, I do not start physical therapy right away. Instead, I will wait 15 days until I have my first post op doctor’s appointment, where I will get my stitches removed, and then I will get the clearance for physical therapy from my doctor. I am not too happy about this, because both times before the doctors emphasized the importance of getting into physical therapy as soon as possible. I feel like this is quite a substantial amount of time in between my post-op appointment/the beginning of physical therapy and the actual surgery. Nonetheless, I will rehab my knee the best I can. I want to get back on the road so that when I start running I am as strong as possible.

Despite the fact that I have a delayed start for physical therapy, I will have the use of a CPM (continual passive motion) Machine for the first month after surgery. I used this machine with my first knee surgery in 2002 and it was a life saver. I use to even sleep with my knee in the machine because it made my knee feel so much better. I will be able to control the degrees that I bend my knee and the speed.

After my ortho appointment, I had my pre-op appointment. They took chest X-Rays and did an EKG. Both came out normal. I was actually surprised at how large my heart looked in my chest X-Ray! Then, they sent me on my way to the lab to have a full blood panel and a pregnancy test. I know for a fact that I am not pregnant…I just find it odd that they did the pregnancy test after they did the X-Rays. At least I’m not planning on my uterus carrying a baby for quite some time.

On a non-surgical related note, I made a worthwhile trip to the thrift store today. I am building up my classroom (and personal, but mostly classroom) library. For $7.09 I purchased: three Goosebumps books, A Man Named Dave, The Lost Boy, Hatchet, Pride and Prejudice, The Battle of the Labyrinth (the fourth novel in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series), and Catch-22! Pretty awesome if you ask me! My classroom library is growing.

With the above books, and my recent trip to the bookstore yesterday, so far my summer reads include: A Brave New World, Catcher in the Rye, Pride and Prejudice, and Catch-22. I just need to finish Jane Eyre first (unfortunately, I am taking longer than I would like to finish this one).

Leave a Reply

