My husband is now a runner!

I have not ran since January and it is killing me. All I want to do is go out and enjoy the sights, smells, sounds, and scenery of my usual running routes. Even in my dreams now I am beginning to not be able to run. Just recently, I dreamt that I was going to go for a run, and then I suddenly remembered that I couldn’t because of my knee. Sad.

On the contrary, Zac has taken up running during my down time. He had trouble with shin splints for almost a year. He was fittled for numerous shoes and always had the same problems with his shins. He would try to run and only make it up to a couple miles in a few weeks and then the pain in his shins would prevent him from contining. A while back though, he finally purchased SuperFeet. He remembered back in the day when he worked in the shoe department at a sporting good’s store how SuperFeet are supposed to cure shin splints. After three different types of shoes, he finally bought some SuperFeet insoles and magically they are working for him now 🙂 I am so very proud of him, and a tiny bit jealous too. But, only because I want to be there with him running.

He is now up to about three miles. Soon, he will start adding in more speed. He is trying to be as cautious as possible because of his prior history with shin splints. I’m just happy that he is now able to run because he will need to be able to run a lot once he starts a Fire Academy.

In addition to my husband’s new running hobby, he said that he will even race with me once I am back and running. It may take me a year, or even longer, but I am trying to convince him to do at least a 10K with me! That would be pretty awesome. He is super competitive also, so I think his shear competitiveness and determination will make him faster than me. I hope not! I am the runner in this relationship 🙂

Regardless, I am excited that he is now running. Once I can start walking for exercise after the surgery, I plan on walking at the new track by my house and he will be able to run laps and sprints as I walk. Yay for company!

On a side vacation note, we are still looking into Italy, but a new vacation idea has presented itself to us…an Alaskan cruise. I’m not sure which we will choose yet. Zac most likely won’t be able to do the cruise because it is before his vacation time at work, and I am not even sure if I will want to go on a cruise without him. Anyway, we are hopeful to either go on a rad vacation later this year, or be in a position where we can’t go at all because he will be in a Fire Academy. But, unless if the California economy turns around, I don’t think he will be a firefighter by the end of the year.

3 responses to “My husband is now a runner!

  1. very cool! Congrats on converting him! I'm working on my husband. He's up to maybe two miles so far. The hardest part is convincing him that once he gets into it he will love it as much as I do!

  2. Good luck convinicng your husband! It took me three years. Mine still hates it, he has yet to experience that magical feeling of euphoria during a run.

Leave a Reply

