Almost done!

Due to the fact that I am not able to run right now, my blog is tramsforming into more of just a blog about me and my life. Today, I signed up for my American Red Cross heartsaver CPR class. This is my final requirement for my California Single Subject Teaching Credential. I will take this class in May. In addition to this one day course, I only have 3 more weeks of student teaching and then I can apply for my preliminary teaching credential.

Earlier today I was looking through all of my courses and requirements I’ve completed since I decided to go back to school to become a teacher; I was pretty impressed. I started school January 2009 and now I am almost done. This is one of the best decisions I’ve made my entire life. Honestly, I do not even know why I did not consider teaching in the first place! I love writing and literature, and everyday I am reminded of how much of an impact I can make on my students.

Since I went back to school, I’ve completed the following:
CLASSES
Level 1 computers for Educators
Health Education/Drug Prevention/STDs course
EDUC 460: Diversity, Interaction, and the Learning Process
EDUC 470: Theories and Methods of Education for Linguistically Diverse Students
EDUC 466: Introduction to the Teaching of Reading for Single Subject candidates
EDUC 472: Teaching Strategies
EDUC 476: Teaching in the Content Areas
EDUC 468: Introductory Student Teaching
SPED 457: Introduction to Exceptional Individuals and Their Families
EDUC 478: Advanced Student Teaching  *currently in progress
EDUC 501: Educational Assessment
EDUC 503: Educational Psychology     *currently in progress

TPAs
TPA 1: Subject Specific Pedagogy
TPA 2: Designing Instruction
TPA 3: Assessing Learning
TPA 4: Culminating Teacher Experience

TESTS
CBEST
CSET

WOW! That is a lot! Come May, that is 41 post-grad/grad level credits! I certainly have been busy these past 16 months! I only have one more class and my thesis and I will have my Master’s in Education! That will be an additional 47 credits since college …..and then I can accumulate even more while going through BTSA!

One response to “Almost done!

  1. Congrats on being almost done! I'm sure that is a great feeling!! I admire teachers, I couldn't do it, I don't have near the patience it requires! Congrats to you & Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

