I’m still around

I was so busy today that I didn’t even have time to watch the season finale of The Bachelor. Luckily, I have it taped on my DVD, but unfortunately I already know who he picks because I let tempation get the best of me and I read the spoilers.

The reason why I am so busy right now is because my student teaching started last week. Currently I am teaching one lesson a week to an eleventh grade English class. It is a lot of fun, but all of the planning and lesson preparation is a lot of work…especially if you are unfamilair with the literature. Student teaching on crutches is anything but fun, but all of the students are super helpful. They open up doors and offer to help. They are sweet. Along with student teaching, I have my fourth and final TPA to submit in four weeks. A TPA is this ridiculously redundant and tedious task that is supposed to determine whether you are “highly qualified” or not. My last TPA was nearly 60 pages long -SINGLE SPACED! This one is even longer and requires a 20 minute video segment of me teaching a lesson. Also, on top of that my Master’s class, Educational Psychology, seems to be in full swing. At class today my professor decided to give us a detailed run-down of all of our upcoming assignments. Can you say stressed? I always seem to get overwhelmed and stressed out, but everything always gets done and I usually end up with an A. I am the type of person who absolutely HATES to have work that still needs to be done.

As far as my knee goes, well, it is still there. I have another appointment with my orthopedic surgeon in March. This appointment will probably be decide which graft I chose for my ACL and to go over the little details of surgery. Surgery is still tentatively scheduled for mid-late May once school is out.

The doctor said that because of the type of tear I have in my meniscus, a larger, “bucket-handle” tear, that I may experience times when my knee “locks.” Boy does it ever. It is because part of the torn meniscus flaps around inside my knee and gets caught up between bones or something. This has happened a couple times these past few weeks. When it happens my leg won’t straighten past 110-120 degrees (180 degrees is fully extended) and it is painful. Sometimes it stays like that for a while and sometimes it goes back after several minutes.

I already set a post-surgery health and fitness related goal. I’m hoping that my knee will be okay and that my doctor will give me the green light to participate in the Long Beach Marathon’s bike race before the marathon and half marathon begin. While I would just ride my bike for fun, and I wouldn’t race, I think it would be an enjoyable experience. I really do miss running. It has only been a short while, but it does wear on me. I try to think positive about everything, but at times it is difficult and I’m finding it very easy to play the, “woe is me” card. It’s just that running was such a big part of my life and something that I loved to do so much and now it isn’t even in my life. I feel kind of empty sometimes. You never really know just how much you love something until it is gone. And last semester when I complained about having to wake up at 4:00 a.m. to get my run in before student teaching, I would do it all over again -heck, I would even wake up at 3:00 a.m. to run now if I could just go back to when  I could run again.

Even though I can’t run now, I am still continuing to read Kathy Svitzer’s book Marathon Woman. It is amazing. I can’t believe how far the sport of women’s running has come in the past 40-50 years. It simple is amazing; her story is also amazing. The more I read this book, the more I admire her and the marathon. While reading it today during SSR, I came across a quote that I just had to share. It made me really think about all that running has taught me and about all of my running accomplishments.

She said, “People always admire runners for their ability to withstand pain; that is not the issue. What people should admire us for is the ability to have the courage to face it.” -Kathrine Switzer

One response to “I’m still around

  1. I love that Switzer quote, and with how you are handling everything that is going on in your life, I think you embody it well.

Leave a Reply

