Foot Diagnosis

My podiatrist appointment was yesterday, and as odd as it sounds I was really looking forward to it. I wanted to see what exactly was wrong with my foot and what I needed to do to get on the road to recovery.

The doctor quickly examined my foot and sent me off to get X-Rayed. After a quick series of three X-Rays, the doctor came back into the exam room and said he knew what was causing me pain. He asked me if I wanted the good news or the bad news first. I wanted the bad news first, that way I could end on a positive note.

The Bad News: I broke one of my sesamoid bones in my foot and due to the nature of these bones, my broken one will never heal and will never fuse back together. If my running pain is persistant, I will need to have surgery to remove part, or all, of the bone so that I can continue to run.

The Good News: After another month, the pain I experience as I run may completely go away. If this happens, the bone will still be broken, but it won’t bother me. Plus, I will be able to run normally again, even long distances. Also, the doctor said that it is a good sign that I am now able to walk around pain-free and that I was able to run a couple miles in the Arizona race pain-free as well.

I have to stay off of it for a month and then I can get back into running again. February 25 will be my first treadmill run and I’m hoping for a pain-free easy 3 miles.

If you look closely you can see the horizontal break in the sesamoid bone on the left. The one on the right is partially covered by the red circle, and is fully intact.
Leave a Reply

