Leaving for Arizona tomorrow!

As excited as I am to run my first race of 2010, I am also a little apprehensive. I haven’t run in a couple weeks because I’m nursing a foot injury and I’m really hoping it won’t give me any trouble in this weekend’s Arizona Rock and Roll Half Marathon.

Here is the course for the half.

Zac is going with me to Arizona. I am really excited to share this experience with him . He has NEVER been to a race expo and he has only gone to one race. While in Arizona, we also plan on visiting his younger brother and going to an eatery that was featured on The Food Network’s Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives.

Adding to my excitement to this race/trip is the fact that Deena Kastor, Ryan Hall, Dean Karnazes, and Sione Fa from the Biggest Loser will all be participating in some Arizona Rock and Roll fun. Deena and Ryan are running the half and Dean and Sione are doing the full. Actually, Dean is doing a 50K by running some before the race. Deena is one of my running idols and I’m hoping to catch a glimpse of her.

Finally, adding a cherry to this already sweet running sundae is Everclear. Yes, Everclear. Not the throat scorching alcohol, but the band. I was a huge fan in middle school and I’m excited that they are the headlining concert for this race. It is pretty cool!

May my feet be swift, my foot be healed, and all participants have an amazing race and story to tell for this event.

Leave a Reply

