Favorite 2009 Running Moments

At the end of every year, I put together a list of my favorite running moments from the year. It is my way of reflecting on the good and looking forward to the future. This year, I am also adding in a list of my running goals for the new year as well.

Top Running Moments of 2009
5. Finally getting over my anti-running capri attitude: Running capris are awesome and until recently I hated them. I only bought them because Vegas was going to be pretty chilly and now I wear them all the time.
4. Running with and meeting even more running friends: What can I say? I LOVE the people in my running group. I enjoy their company on our long runs, I thrive off of their motivation and support, and I look forward to seeing them every Saturday morning. Even if I’m not in a running mood, or if I am dreading the long miles, or if the weather is horrible, I wake up early on Saturday mornings with a smile on my face because I know I am about to be in the company of some of the greatest people.
3. My New  1/2 Marathon PR: For what seemed like forever, I was stuck with a 1:50:XX half marathon time. I trained and trained and still had difficulty breaking that mark. But, that was until 2009. In October (a week after my favorite moment #2) I ran the Long Beach Half Marathon. I can honestly say that I’ve never run a half marathon with so much heart before and I left every once of evergy I had on the course. I finished in 1:42:19. First, I was exstatic that I broke 1:50; secondly, I was even more pumped that I completely smashed my previous PR of 1:50:XX!

2. Winning the Harvest Festival 10K: In October, I signed up for a 10K on a whim. I’d never run a 10K race before and felt that the 6.2 miles run would be an excellent tempo run for my 1/2 marathon the week after. While I didn’t meet my time goal for the race, which was coming in under 45 minutes, I finished in 45:19 and was the first female to cross the finish line. I’ve placed 1st in my age group before, but never as the first female to cross the finish line. It was awesome.

1. Accomplishing my goal of running a sub-4 marathon: In December I ran the Rock and Roll Las Vegas Marathon. I completed this marathon in 3:58:04 and was so elated that I accomplished a goal that I’ve been working toward since I started training for marathons in 2007. Even though I am super happy with my time and progress, it is time to step it up and eventually shave off an additional 18 minutes.

Running Goals for 2010
1. Run a 3:40 marathon and qualify for Boston
2. Run a race in another state besides California and Nevada
3. Run a sub 1:40 half marathon
4. Run a sub 45 minute 10K
5. Log in at least 1500 miles throughout the year.

Cheers to all. Have a happy and healthy 2010!

Leave a Reply

