1 week to go until 26.2

It seemed like an eternity ago when I signed up for the Inagural Rock ‘n Roll Las Vegas Marathon and now it is only a week away. This will be the only marathon I will run in 2009. I was supposed to run the Pasadena full back in March, but a knee injury kept me from training for a long time and I had to settle with the half. Seeing as how Las Vegas is the only full I will run this year, I want to make it the best one yet and barring any crazy race day occurances I know it will be. This is the strongest and most confident that I have ever felt going into a marathon. I built my mileage up early, ran two 18 mile runs, one 21 mile run, and one 23 mile run, all of which I ran strong a steady, fast 9 pace. My group is aiming for a sub 4 pace, but I will be thrilled with anything faster than a 4:15!

Another thing that excites me about this race is that it is the first marathon my parents will be at. They use to watch me at my cross country meets in high school, but 3.1 miles does not compare at all to the magnitude of 26.2 miles. Also, I believe that some of my other family (cousins and aunts and uncles) will be along the course.
All in all, it is going to be a great race and I am super excited to run my third marathon in my home town 🙂
Leave a Reply

