New PR: Long Beach 1/2

When I think about my performance at the Long Beach 1/2 Marathon yesterday, I just smile. I was on cloud 9 before, during and after the race. My previous 1/2 PR was 1:50:19 and I completely SMASHED it. My goal was to run a 1:45 and I came it with a net time of 1:42:29.
I was able to get a little more sleep than usual before a race. I think I managed to get about 4 1/2 hours. For me, that is a lot of sleep before a race. I always get so anxious and can never sleep.
When I arrived to the race site with Allison, I signed in with my Pacers Family. I saw that another runner was planning on running a 1:45 so I sought him out and ran with him. It wasn’t until we were lined up in corral 1 that he told me he was going to try for a 1:40. “Okay,” I thought, “maybe I can do faster than 1:45.”
The gun goes off and we start. Seeing as how we lined up in the very back of corral 1 (the Elites were in this same corral) it took us a bit of time to get moving. And, as always, we passed many people who should not have been in that corral.
I felt “on” for the entire race and I only fatigued slightly at mile 11…but I was able to rev up my engine again when I saw the 12 mile marker and I picked it up for a nice solid finish.

My mile splits for the race were:
Mile 1: 8:10
Mile 2: 7:54
Mile 3: 7:50
Mile 4: 7:46
Mile 5: 7:45
Mile 6: 7:44
Mile 7: 7:40
Mile 8: 7:48
Mile 9: 7:43
Mile 10: 7:39
Mile 11: 7:36
Mile 12: 7:46
Mile 13: 7:35
My friends David and Allison ran the full marathon yesterday, and both of them got a PR also! It was just a day full of PRs for the Pacer Family!
Leave a Reply

