10K female winner!

I ran my first 10K this morning, the St. Paul of the Apostle Harvest Festival 10K, and I came in first for my age group and first overall woman! I’ve never been an overall winner before and I am super excited.

My initial goal for the race was to run a sub 45/45 flat and I came in at 45:19. Even though those pesky 19 seconds got in the way, I am very proud of my time.

The race course followed almost of all of my favorite training routes that I run by myself and with the Pacers. I guess that is a perk of running a race super close to your house 🙂

The first 2 miles were uphill; the uphill was mostly gradual with about 3 actual hills. Next, the course had about a mile of a downhill stretch. The course finished mostly flat after a small hill around mile 5.

When the race began, I took off with the fastest group. I got out fast and established my pace by the first 1/2 mile. I tried to stay between 7:00 and 7:30. I noticed that there was only one other female who shot out with the breakout group. She was in my AG too. I was right behind her for the first mile (letting her set the pace for us) until the first big hill. I love hills. I train in the hills. I passed her on the hill.

With about 1/2 mile to go, I approached the turn and I overheard race officials say, “she is the first woman.” Even though I knew I was leading the women, it was such an amazing feeling to hear those words.

After the race, I ate pancakes with my friend Allison and her husband Gary and watched the awards ceremony. I felt so strong during the race and recovered quickly. I am so ready for the Long Beach 1/2 next Sunday. Hopefully I finish that race as close to 1:45:00 as possible.

Race breakdown:
10K/6.2 miles
45:19
7:18 pace
1st place female
1st place AG
10th finisher overall

Weekly run breakdown
30.81 miles in
4:18:36

Leave a Reply

