My happy place

I took today off of running, but that didn’t stop me from going to the gym. I went to yoga class and it was amazing. This yoga instructor, Claudia, is my favorite. I always feel energized, rejuvenated, and at peace with the Earth after her classes. Today, we focused on a lot of strength-building and balance poses. I think my favorite pose from today is the tree. Sometimes it feels like I could be a tree for hours on end.

We always end the session in our “happy place” while we focus on our breathing. My happy place is a narrow, dirt running trail amid pine tress hundreds of feet tall. It is an empty mountain forest where the only sounds I hear are the birds chirping and my feet hitting the trail with a steady bear. In my happy place, I can smell the pine and the fresh air, I can see myself gliding effortlessly through the trail, and it is all very tranquil. Yoga = amazing.

Leave a Reply

