2009 Race Calendar

It is almost December and as hard as that is to believe, it is time to start thinking about my 2009 running schedule. While I want to improve my marathon time and increase my mileage, I must also be smart in my training choices. The year 2009 is going to make some pretty substantial changes in my life and I need to readjust my training. For one, I will be marrying an amazing man in May and secondly, I am beginning coursework to earn my Master’s degree and California Teaching Credential. Between school work, a job, substitute teaching and wedding planning, I will need to schedule some runs but I don’t think it will be possible to adequately train for a marathon without disappointing myself.

With that said, I have mapped out my 2009 racing schedule for the first part of the year. While a PR would be nice in the following events, I plan on making 2009 a year where I just run for the fun and enjoyment of it. In my schedule, you will see one full marathon so far. This event is a planned jog/walk marathon with my running buddies. We are doing a superhero themed event and will probably finish in about 7 hours. It is going to be a blast to cover the streets of San Diego in superhero costumes. Also, I am undecided as to whether I will run the full or half in San Francisco. This race will complete my California Dreaming Series of races (Long Beach, Surf City, and San Francisco).

Southern California Half Marathon – Saturday, January 10
Surf City Half Marathon – Sunday, February 1
Pasadena Half Marathon – TBD – possibly February/March
OC Half Marathon – Sunday, May 3,
Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon – Sunday May 31
San Francisco Marathon/Half Marathon – Sunday, July 26

Leave a Reply

