15 weeks to go – its getting intense!

According to my training schedule, I have 15 weeks to go and apparently this means getting down to business. Starting this week, I am doing times speed workouts and beginning next week I have one day a week speed workouts in the morning followed by evening recovery runs. Tuesdays from here until taper time are going to be long, draining, challenging and rewarding at the same time. As easy as it would be just to do an easy 50 minutes at a comfortable pace instead of these workouts, I know that this next part of the program is essential if I wish to break 4 hours in October. I am going to have to grin and bear it, push myself and get ready so that I will be able to maintain at least a 9:05 pace throughout the entire duration of the 26.2 mile race.

On the non-running side of my life, I have finally found a non profit organization to volunteer for a couple times a month, Cats In Need. It is a no-kill, volunteer-ran organization that helps place homeless cats and dogs with suitable families. I get so excited just thinking about it and I can’t wait to start helping homeless animals find loving homes.

Leave a Reply

