Hot Hot Heat

Man, it sure is hot out there. I just returned from an 8 mile training run and my body is drained. It didn’t help that sometimes we were off our pace and were running in the 8:30 – 8:40 pace range. This heat wave is crazy. Yesterday, it topped off at around 109 and today it is slightly cooler, definitely not ideal running conditions. Great conditions for the pool though. That is where I a headed shortly. Aside from running, floating is my favorite sport!

I want to find a high school near my work and gym so that I can do some speed workouts on a track before I begin my day. I think I found one relatively close, I will have to go check it out. I need to start incorporating more, quality speed workouts into my routine if I want to break the four hour mark. The problem though, is that many of the tracks around here are dirt tracks and I am not down for that. I must have been spoiled in high school with my synthetic/rubber surface track. Those are much nicer than the dirt ones. I am scared of slipping, falling and getting injured on the dirt tracks. Another injury is something I would like to avoid if at all possible.

Leave a Reply

